Hey folks! Freshman year is coming to a close, so I thought it would be good to start to share some of the images I’ve been not-updating the blog with the last few weeks – hopefully my Summer schedule  will allow me to better maintain this space in the coming weeks.  I’ve got a lot of images to get in order, but for now here are the sculptural illustrations for my Totem series, adapted from a comic project in process (you can see the layout for the comic and some sample images below.

Some background info:  I reinterpreted my experience of the aftermath of my father’s death as a traditional ‘hero’s journey into the underworld and back again’ type of story (which I’m still working on).  I then took the outline of that comic it and re-imagined the story as a play, the characters being played by a combination of human actors and puppeteers practicing their craft.  I then sculpted the actors, sets and scenes, as well as some of the action backstage, then staged and photographed them to create the scenes below.

The process of creating these images took many weeks worth of work, and, while I’ve still obviously got a lot to learn, taught me a lot of useful information about the process of creating sculptural illustration and photography in general .  Please let me know what you think, and as always, click to embiggin.

