jamie

Greetings once again, fellow engineers!  This week is off to a bit of a rough start, between school and work, getting organized to head out of town on Thursday for Detroit and, as the the time signature for this post will no doubt tell, late nights.  Hopefully I’ll be able to make up the lost sleep soon.  Woo.

That said, this weekend was great- my fellow cartoonist buddy and engineer Charlotte  celebrated her birthday this Friday, and we celebrated by eating Koren Barbeque and watching Hocus Pocus.   Also, got to see the season premier of the Waking Dead with my friend Poprocks and her mom.   Good times.

I’m a fan of Renee French’s work, which I’ve read excerpts of previously in anthologies and mini comics, as well as some of her other books.  This was the first time I’ve read The Ticking in full, and it had more of an emotional impact on me than expected.  While I’m very much the type of person to get invested in books, without going into too much detail or spoiling the plot (as relatively simple as it is), some of the content hit very close to home.  I’ve been thinking a lot about translating personal experience into comics, and struggling with autobio work.  Some stuff is just takes a while to settle enough to process, I guess.

Until then, more Uncle Davie’s and reading about other people’s lives.

thegang

This week’s non-required reading list:

Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life by Ulli Lust

July Diary by Gabrielle Bell

One! Hundred! Demons! by Lynda Barry

Do Not Disturb My Waking Dream #2 by Laura Park

Viewtron #2 by Sam Sharpe

Happy wandering, folks.

