jdlee1 copy

Hey folks,

Not too much to report so far this time around.  I’ve been working on my second project for class, and while I feel like the initial concept for the story is the same as when I first conceived it, there has been a lot of writing and rewriting trying to get it to work tonally.  Making stories read simply is tough work.

AAAK

I know that things will come together, and that even they don’t, I’ll learn something from the process.  Thank goodness for good music, kind folks, and sketchbooks.

To help deal with these project-related struggles, I added two tools to my utility belt: A new Pentel pocket brush and a mason jar full of writing prompts copy and cut from Lynda Barry’s What Things Do.

tools

This quote by Sam Alden on story structure has also been very useful:

The main thing that I learned from studying literature in college is how to structure a short story so that it follows some kind of logic and has some kind of conclusion. Like I knew how to conclude a plot, because you just figure out what the characters will do next and what will happen to them, but studying literature taught me that you can also resolve a story thematically, just by changing the writing or the imagery or by performing some trick of narration. In every story there’s the narrative of the characters within the story, and then there’s the narrative of the reader’s perception, if that makes any sense. Like the little emotional and intellectual journey that you take the reader on. And that second one is the important narrative to resolve.

You can read the rest of the post here, on Sam’s blog Gingerland Comics.

This week’s non-required reading list:

“Household” by Sam Alden

image

Optic Nerve 8 by Adrian Tomine

Optic Nerve 8 Page 3 by Adrian Tomine Comic Art

I Will Bite You and Other Stories by Joseph Lambert

Carnet de Voyage by Craig Thomspon

Photobucket

Bonus: Craig’s post on writing Carnet: Here

carnetA.jpg

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Hair Shirt by Patrick McEown

Bonus: McEown’s post on process from SelfMadeHero: Here

Here’s to good luck, and until next time, trick or treat wisely.

figure drawing

Ink sketch from figure drawing

